Spring is so close that I can see some buds opening wide enough to see the actual leaves inside the sepals. In a couple of months my world will be full of leaves, but right now they are a treasure.

Down at Deas Island I can at least see the new nettle growth. I don’t know why I am so pleased about this – nettles are the one plant I really dislike. This may be due to my taking a dare as a child to walk through a big patch of mature nettles that were taller than I was.  I panicked and backed out of the nettle patch when I had reached the middle and should just have gone ahead.

I still perceive mature nettles as looking somehow evil, but the new baby plants –  among the first plants to re-sprout in spring – they are welcome and, for the moment, harmless.

Leave a Reply

